First Blog Ideas


This week, I am just aiming for you to get a post up on the blog.

At a minimum, write one paragraph about some topic or idea from the class.

Here is a little list of questions I had of possibilities:

From Aspen- what are cost-benefits of graduated cap gains tax?

Was SEC rule change for proxy voting adopted?  Effect?

How did corporate governance get so captured by management?

What are Aspen Principles on Long Term Value?

Krugman says Bernanke thinks only a smarter fed is needed to manage economy.  Well, what now  given economy and the Jackson Hole speech last week saying Fed will do nothing…

What is the current political debate about whether the stimulus “worked”…Rs say no, Unemployment is high.  Ds yes, it could have been higher.

What is behavioral finance?  How does it explain the great recession?

What happened to Skilling‘s conviction?  Where is Enron now?  Gas trading?

How do economics of disintermediation or market-making work?  If you find more efficient prices for all customers, you lower margin on each deal, right?  Won’t that erode margins over time?

Who was Mencken?  Does he offer other insights now?  He was the person quoted by Krugaman that every human problem has a neat, simple, and wrong solution.

In the eight steps, they say to check you gut because humans are hard-wired for empathy.  Are we? Are there more Insights into “hard-wired” for empathy and fairness?  Are there experiments with primates, other animals.  Does this dissolve the nature-nurture debate.

About Jordi

I am an assistant professor in the Management School at Bucknell University. I specialize in organization theory, social networks, and studying the network society. I have three children, including twins. They love bouncing on the couch, legos, music, and my waffles. My wife teaches English at the same university. I am interested in most things, but these days, networks, social entrepreneurs, the environment, innovation, and virtual worlds. Finding Hidden Abodes and Shaking Iron Cages since 1972
This entry was posted in Class and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Blog Ideas

  1. I have been thinking about something that was mentioned in the “utilitarian” article since I read it yesterday, and again more intensely since class today. I am not convinced that we can actually estimate the value someone places on something. The example that I have been having the most trouble wrapping my head around is if life insurance really shows the value one attributes to his/her life. I didn’t say anything about this in class because a) we were running out of time and b) because I grew up in another country and wasn’t sure I clearly understood how life insurance works here. Now that I’ve done some research, I have confirmed my initial belief that life insurance is NOT a valid estimate of how much someone values one’s own life. I think that someone would pay much less for life insurance (the money that a family is given after a family member’s death) than they would state, if asked, as the estimated amount of money they would value their life for.

    Additionally, I would just like to add insight into an answer for the question about empathy posted. I am in a primate behavior class where we observe monkey behavior and do research on whether or not they have consciousness. Empirical data suggests that they do have morality, culture, and theory of mind. I therefore believe that humans, having evolved from these primates, are hard-wired to be empathetic in the same way. Humans without moral consciousness must have a mutation (I mean this from a medical perspective, not in a negative way) that has caused them to act without compassion.

  2. aml028 says:

    I would like to blog about how Enron was able to submit false financial statements for so many years. Since Enron was such a large player in the energy market, I would think their financial statements would be analyzed the most. I don’t think the excuses that Enron’s senior executives were intimidating and their balance sheets were very confusing are valid. I think a good example that is comparable to Enron submitting false financial statements is Major League Baseball allowing Mark McGuire to break the home run record when he was on steroids. How can a respectable organization like the MLB not test a person like Mark McGuire for performance enhancing drugs and allow him to ruin the game of baseball. Similarly, there has to be smart financial people all over the country that could have looked at the financial statements of Enron and proved how illegitimate they were. Submitting false financial statements and using steroids in baseball give you an unfair advantage over your competitors. Unfortunately, Enron was able to get away with these incorrect financial statements for over ten years. I also was very happy to read that Lay and Skilling are in jail for their actions. They were able to make large amounts of money by privately selling large amounts of stock in the company in 2000 and 2001.

    AL

What do you think?

