Growing Up


Reading one of Jordi’s classes past blogs, I came across this post. It discusses the importance of employees to the workplace, using a financial example that states that the majority of the cost of building a business goes into maintaining its workforce. (I could go on and on about how important a company’s workforce is to its success, as I am learning about it in my human resources class, but that wouldn’t be as interesting as everything else that is running through my mind…) Instead, I think wilson7’s post is very pertinent to our class, as we are mostly seniors about to enter the working world. Being a pre-med student, I can’t imagine going to work every day in an office space, or even worse, a cubicle. I want to be on my feet and meeting new people most of the day; doing research and paperwork for the other part. Going to work behind a desk for 40 hours a week for the next 40 years is a daunting thought and therefore I agree completely that a good working environment is an extremely enticing feature of a business to a future employee.

The workplace of a company such as Ideo is one that, if I had to be a businessperson, I could enjoy. As Jordi was discussing in class, we have an innate desire to “play” as animals, and I can’t understand why it is frowned upon to be an adult that still “plays”.  Ideo, as an example, allows its employees to “play” while they work, and it has also become a leader in its industry. Coincidence? I don’t think so.

Whenever I think about what it is going to be like to be a working person, I start to begin to hate society. It is oriented entirely around money. Most people work nine hour days doing something they don’t wholeheartedly enjoy, in order to be able to enjoy life for the two days off that they get. I realized recently that in order to “do” anything, be it go to a museum, to dinner, even to the park if it isn’t within walking distance, you have to have money. So we work because we want to relax, have fun, and life comfortably when we aren’t working. Society has become overly materialistic (and after losing all of my posessions in our recent flood I realize this to the fullest extent).

In this respect, where money is the center of today’s society, it’s not surprising that major corporations are “adjusting” regulations, condoning “sneaky” accounting, and making questionably unethical decisions in order to make a profit. It’s sad that people (and by people I mean the managers making decisions for their company) can become so oriented on the goal of making money that they lose sight of the fact that there is more to life.

This entry was posted in For Fun, Social Science, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Growing Up

  1. kjc013 says:

    I completely agree with how important it is to love your job and the environment in which you work, especially since people now work such ridiculous hours most of the time. I worked in a large defense litigation law firm this summer in Center City, Philadelphia, and it was so refreshing to go to work every day. Even though attorneys generally work much longer days than the average worker, the attorneys working at my firm loved coming to work every day, and they loved what they were doing. The company held happy hours every few weeks, where people chatted sociably and were clearly all friends. When I asked them how they liked this particular firm, they all said the same thing, that while they were still expected to give 110%, the firm is very easy-going and treats them all very well so they are inclined to work that much harder. Some even claimed that they could have started a private law practices and made more money, but loved working at this firm so much and were treated so well that they decided they were better off staying where they were. As a future attorney, I am definitely going to keep my foot in the door at this firm! I would love to work at a job that I didn’t mind waking up and going to each day.

    PS.. sorry about your house/belongings in the flood 😦

  2. Slade says:

    I agree entirely that one should enjoy working every day, especially since feeling good about a job will most likely make everyone more efficient in his or her workplace. Sadly enough, the money issue is also usually what drives people away from pursuing a dream that might make less money than the job they settled for, so they become unhappy with their routine of a job, but feel too stuck to risk seeking something else.

    PS: I’m also sorry to hear about your troubles from the flood.

  3. JWitty says:

    Eli,

    I really thank you for writing this post, as it presents an honest, real opinion that probably pervades most of our thinking as a senior class. Our generation largely believes that we’re “entitled” to earn at least as much as our parents earn. Unfortunately, today’s economic climate is not in support of this belief. I’ve always cared about making a substantial living. I don’t want to bathe in money, I just want to support my family to the same extent that my family has supported me. Roughly a week ago, I came to the striking realization that I have no idea how go about doing that. I’m not going to work in finance, I’m not going to be a doctor, and there really are no jobs for lawyers (at least not nearly as many as their used to be). I’m trying very hard not to focus on making money, but the fact of the matter is that it really has to play a part in your thinking as you apply for real world jobs. Sad but true, I suppose

What do you think?

