You, Mr/Ms Bucknell Student, cannot hold an intellegent conversation


Throughout the Campus Climate paper there is talk about how little
we as Bucknellians hold intelligent conversations and discuss current issues. A
lot of the people (some percentage of the 66 who participated in the interviews
and surveys) seemed to have not felt like they can hold intelligent
conversations at Bucknell. If I had a penny for the times that I have talked
about social issued with various people in numerous situations I would have
dropped out of college by now. But then again, that’s my own experience and I
might be dissolution about a reality that might actually exist at Bucknell.

Regardless, lets say that intellectual conversations were void at
Bucknell and, since intellectual advancement is one of Bucknell’s goals for its
students, you would think that there would be a recommendation for how to tackle
the issue. While the campus climate review board is consumed with Greek life to
the point that they felt it necessary to write TWO recommendations regarding
it; encouraging intellectual curiosity is not mentioned once. As mentioned
before, this is an issue that the report highlights throughout its
investigations but does not feel a recommendation to achieve a university goal
(which is apparently lacking) is necessary. You can only question the real
agenda of this climate group if an issue that is so glaring in their “discoveries”
isn’t deemed important enough to address in its recommendations to the
president; the person charged to make sure that the university’s goals for its
students are met.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You, Mr/Ms Bucknell Student, cannot hold an intellegent conversation

  1. Alyssa Haglund says:

    I agree that Bucknellians can absolutely hold intelligent conversations! They may not be witnessed by administration because they are in a more relaxed setting, but that doesn’t mean that we don’t have them. Another claim during the forum, made by another student, is that Bucknell student’s do not have integrity. I thought this was especially alarming considering Bucknell has been such a driving force in helping us to create those morals. College is a place to find yourself and I think that we should not criticize our fellow (intelligent) students who are still solidifying theirs.

    • tesoman says:

      I can’t agree more Alyssa. Bucknell has been ranked number 20 in a list of the “Top Peace Corps Volunteer Producing College and Universities.” With no moral integrity it would be hard to imagine how the university was ever able to claim such a distinct award. Some might claim that Bucknellians might change when they leave and enter the “real world”, but I find it hard to imagine that in four years here there is no structure that develops any of the moral integrity that is clearly seen in our graduates.
      With so many students engaged in organizations such as BAP, Globe-Med, Colleges Against Cancer, Invisible Children, and Habitat for Humanity; with service trips to Memphis, Nicaragua, and New Orleans; and events such as the aids walk, gulu walk, relay for life and many others we are morally educating ourselves and developing out social integrity even if these events have become things that some people “don’t have time for” or “have seen it/done it before”

  2. RickE says:

    I’m not sure who they were interviewing to get these results, because I distinctly remember one of the first things I loved about coming to Bucknell was being able to have really in depth intellectual conversations with my fellow classmates. With so many brilliant kids around me it was so easy to start up a conversation about the most complicated of subjects, I loved it and I still do!

  3. jordi says:

    “dissolution” ? Did you mean disillusioned?

  4. jordi says:

    I will look at the report again. However, I don’t think it is accurate that it did not address intellectual engagement in its recommendations. I’m on my cell, less than ideal for commenting.

    • tesoman says:

      Jordi, I would look at pages 12-13 (interesting data that looks pretty good but notice that the summary is “rushed”), 27-28, and 46-47. These are places where they talk about the intellectual climate of the campus. And again, notice how many recommendations they have to fix this apparent problem.

      But I meant to say this in my response and forgot to, but I think that some of the blame can be placed at the feet of some of the faculty. I must admit that I hated the idea of blogging at first because I thought of it as extra work but the discussions I have had and have read have really turned me around. If I could say that there is one thing that you are doing right Jordi, it would be challenging us to think. You’re lesson plans could honestly be the recommendation to this apparent lack of thinking that we are trapped in as students. I probably should be writing my paper but when I saw this I decided to chime in with another opinion which is fun and also gets me thinking. So if the climate task force decides that students can be brought onto the team when decision time comes around, I hope someone says, “Well, if you want us to think more you gotta get us to talk/blog more and listen to you lecture less!”

      And yes….I meant disillusioned and not “dissolution” thanks

    • tesoman says:

      Actually….somehow I missed the recommendation titled, “Promote Intellectual and Civic Engagement” each of the 9 times I read this….sorry; rant over

What do you think?

