The bank took my home! My very expensive fancy home! For shame!


“Robert Stephens graduated from Carleton College (average cost: $42,942/year) in 2010 and now studies law at The George Washington University Law School (average cost: $70,449/year). His father has a Ph.D. and two master’s degrees; his mother also has a master’s degree. Only in America could a kid have been blessed with so much… and only in America could he still claim to be a victim. America’s capitalist society has apparently leveled a grave injustice against his family and Robert will not stand for it.”

It’s crazy to think that just as little as a month ago I asked my roommate about all of the “We are the 99%” pictures and memes arising on the internet. I’m shamed to admit that I didn’t know what they were referring to, and felt I was uninformed. It turns out I was. I really was.

There’s been a lot of hub-ub about Occupy Wall Street in the past few weeks as the movement has gained momentum and spread across the country ( there’s even been some recent discussion of Occupy Market Street in Lewisburg). When you really look at what these people are protesting, it’s hard to deny their cause. They demand economic justice not just for the rich and powerful, but for the country as a whole. As a large proponent of human rights and equality, myself, I decided recently that I would really like to take part. I’ve even considered getting myself to New York to be on the front lines of the movement. And therein lies the reason for this post. Is it hypocritical for me to join ? Is it hypocritical for most of us? The majority of students at Bucknell seem come from moderately to vastly wealthy households. While I feel a strong moral desire to stand with the people and cry out for justice, I have trouble facing some of the facts. I’m the son of an intellectual property lawyer. I live in a mostly-white community in the suburbs north of Chicago. I went to a great public high school. I go to Bucknell University. To put it simply, I’d feel like a huge hypocrite.

I wasn’t sure whether this notion was justified or not, and then I saw the video above. As you can see, there’s a VERY large disconnect between how Robert is portraying himself and who he actually is. He’s a wealthy, very well educated law student at one of the most expensive schools in the country, and here he is screaming about how the bank took his home and what not. Aside from the fact that what he’s saying is blatantly false, could he be more hypocritical? Whatever he thought he was doing, his actions ultimately take away some of the credibility of Occupy Wall Street in the public’s eyes. I felt this would be an appropriate blog post, as I’m very curious if anyone else feels this way. Would you take part in Occupy Wall Street if you felt you were part of the group they were protesting?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The bank took my home! My very expensive fancy home! For shame!

  1. mike cardinute says:

    I thought this video was quite disturbing. He has what many people dream of having and he is in the middle of NY acting foolish. I agree with you that he is acting hypocritical because his parents are probably just as wealthy as the people who are being protested.

  2. KCasty says:

    I completely agree with you. While I respect what the people involved in the protests are doing, it is hard to for me (and most, if not all, other Bucknell students) to relate. Most of us come from well-to-do families with parents that work high-paying jobs (many of them even on Wall Street). However, even though getting directly involved in the protests might feel hypocritical, I definitely think that there is a way to support the protestors in some other way.

    I also agree that the guy in the video is taking credibility away from the movement. It is awful that his hard-working and successful parents lost their house, but I do not think that these protests provide the correct time and place for him to make this scene.

  3. Jordi says:

    Where did the quotation come from?

  4. Jordi says:

    Video is from the #OWS’ media committee? Can you verify?

    http://www.youtube.com/user/LibertyPlazaRev

  5. katiebaum13 says:

    i totally agree with this blog. I found myself asking the exact same question of whether or not I was being hypocritical in supporting the movement. I believe there are ways in which I and people who are in the same situations as me can find to support this movement and the idea without being hypocritical like the video portrayed.

  6. Jordi says:

    Why is he a hypocrite? How do you know he is rich?

    Do you think Warren Buffet is a hypocrite if he argues for more progressive taxation?

    Does one’s economic status negate one’s ability to speak in solidarity with other citizens?

  7. Pingback: Blog awards round 2 | Biz Gov Soc

What do you think?

