What Do You Think of This Video


A faculty friend of mine here on the faculty made this video about grade expectations and the differences between students and perspectives. What do you think?

About Jordi

I am an assistant professor in the Management School at Bucknell University. I specialize in organization theory, social networks, and studying the network society. I have three children, including twins. They love bouncing on the couch, legos, music, and my waffles. My wife teaches English at the same university. I am interested in most things, but these days, networks, social entrepreneurs, the environment, innovation, and virtual worlds. Finding Hidden Abodes and Shaking Iron Cages since 1972
This entry was posted in Class, For Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What Do You Think of This Video

  1. tpm011 says:

    I didn’t like it. I did not like the repetitive nature and the general tone that the student had but i’m assuming that was the point of the video. I am not a teacher so I am not exposed to this kind of student just basically expecting a higher grade because they are asking for one, but i believe most students are better at explaining why they think they deserve a better grade. Over my four years here i have not had a problem with teachers when i couldn’t get an assignment done on time because of an away track meet but i had to tell them about it before hand. Teachers here are very accommodating, just like the teacher portrayed in the video, but i think the student portrayal was off base as it was obvious that the student doesn’t deserve a higher grade because he has shown no motivation to improve.

  2. RickE says:

    I think it is awful when students take advantage of teachers that can’t be “the bad guy” and guilt them into constantly accepting late work or unfairly raising a test grade. More teachers need to be like this and just put their foot down. Yes it sucks when they get rated poorly because of it but sometimes that happens and you have to just take it in stride.

  3. ALXLIONS says:

    I also think this video is awful. I couldn’t even watch the whole thing. It is annoying, repetitive and just not funny. It is trying to stereotype students but I highly doubt or would atleast hope that this kind of student doesn’t exist at Bucknell. I wonder what this teacher would think if students made the same video about how their teaching style. I gave this video one star since it was LAME! goodbye.

    • Jordi says:

      I think the repetition is part of the humor.
      Any caricature is an exaggeration. But one with a grain of truth. Or several.

      I would love to see a student version. What would it poke fun at?

      Is teacher-student misunderstanding universal?

  4. knriggins says:

    In order to get a little perspective on the video I watched this with my housemates. They seemed to think the repetition was the best part. It may have been a little drawn out in the second to last minute. Going off what Tom said, professors here are very accommodating. I really do think they take pride in their jobs and want to help the student in any way possible. There is the occasional professor who is uncooperative, and that can be very frustrating as a student, but I think dealing with people like that may give us the best lessons of all (I know it’s cheesy but i do think it is true). Like those few professors, I’m sure there are students out there like this who care only about their grade. We (as students at Bucknell) care very much about our grades, and we work hard to do well. When I first saw this video a part of me absolutely wanted to say NOT TRUE THIS IS AWFUL.

    I also never realized how stressful evaluations were until I was a TA and was being evaluated myself. I don’t think students realize how important those evaluations are, especially new professors whose jobs are directly effected by that feedback. For any students that read this, if you have a professor who you think is truly extraordinary put in the extra time to recognize that. I think they value our opinion more than we know. This goes for the reverse too! If you felt a professor didn’t do well, tell them why! I think it is so great that the school gives us the opportunity to provide that feedback.

  5. Jordi says:

    The part of this that cracks me up, as it has happened to me, is when a student asks me for “extra credit.” My usual response is to worry about regular credit first.

    My own version would dwell more on apostrophes, not revising papers, and the wide spread “other professors” who never assign so much reading or writing, or who always curve, or whatever is desired.

    I don’t mean to make light of grades at all. I just find that they have a too-powerful effect on student motivations and evaluation of learning. I wonder if there are ways to decouple learning and academic risk-taking from the idea that the “goodies” in life are directly determined by grades. For example, my college has the option to take a set number of courses ( I think 1-2 a year) for pass/no pass credit. The faculty did not know who had elected that status so that they would not short change those students.

  6. Nate says:

    I feel that grades can be distracting somewhat to students. I personally don’t fret over grades and just trust that the professors here will give you the grade that you deserve at the end of the semester. You can tell that students let their grades interfere with their learning when they worry about getting those couple extra points from the teacher instead of making sure they fully grasp the material being taught. Grades are an effective way to motivate students to do well but it just annoys me when students think it’s the end of the world because they got a 5/6 on the homework instead of a 6/6. Instead of being mad that you lost that one homework point that is probably worth .00001% of your overall grade, maybe look at what you got wrong and find the correct answer to store in your noggin.

  7. Alyssa Haglund says:

    This video is “lame.” I understand the video style because I have seen others like it, but I don’t think it was truthful at all. When seeing the title of this post, I was hoping that it would look into the issue between a students obsession with grades and a professors belief that grades don’t matter, learning does (because we have all heard that one before!)

  8. JWitty says:

    I feel like this video is representative of the lowest caliber student, not the average student at Bucknell. I don’t believe it represents students that have high self-expectations and are startled when they are not achieved. Coming to see a professor about help with one’s grade should not be a subject of mockery. I will say that I found the video entertaining at it’s face, but not so much if it’s meant to symbolize something else.

What do you think?

