Going Back in Time


I saw Alfred Hitchcock’s move “North by Northwest,” and I, like Rick, have never liked old movies.  I have tried to watch older movies and I can never get into them. I feel like they don’t have much of a plot or  nothing exciting happens throughout the hour or more of movie time.  Surprisingly, I liked “North by Northwest.”

I found it to be one of the more interesting older movies that I have seen and I actually enjoyed watching it.  Seeing it in the campus theatre was also fun since I haven’t been since it was renovated recently.

I feel like I am not really used to watching older movies at all and the movies we have now are very different from what they were 50 years ago.  I think I am accustomed to seeing so many exciting things happen in a movie nowadays that when I try to watch something that was created in the 50’s or so, I can’t get into it since it is more, relatively, boring.  Maybe being accustomed to seeing 6 things blow up in one hour or crazy, unreal movie scenes has made it more difficult for me to be able to appreciate the movies made way back when.

I do love the movies we have today and I love how exciting and adventurous and interesting they can be, but I do wish I was able to appreciate those made in the past.  After seeing “North by Northwest” I can see myself maybe trying to watch some of the oldies but goodies movies that I have always been a bit iffy about seeing.  Hopefully, one day, I’ll be able to appreciate all great movies made, no matter what year they were created or how long ago they came out.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Class, For Fun, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Back in Time

  1. eeewald says:

    I agree that old movies are pretty boring and difficult to get caught up in. But I started even losing interest in more recent movies as well. Every new movie these days seems to be just a series of special effects of in 3-d which I find really annoying. I don’t want things looking like they’re going to hit me in the face every 5 minutes, I just want ot relax and be entertained for an hour or so.

What do you think?

