Slice of My Home Life


Here is a tiny slice of my home life, made so much more interesting by Elijah, age 11, and his twin siblings, Thea (Dorothea) and Aley (Alexander), almost 8.  I don’t never go to Wal-Mart, but I am personally critical of many of its impacts and its managerial choices.

Virginia, at dinner table, where I served Hot Dog Carbonara, a new dish spawned by leftovers: “You know Wal-Mart’s produce looked better than Weiss’. And they had more organic choices.”
A beat of silence as I contemplate the multiple implications.
Aley, aged 8, ferocious critic of industrialized food, quietly: “Mommy, are you betraying us?”
About Jordi

I am an assistant professor in the Management School at Bucknell University. I specialize in organization theory, social networks, and studying the network society. I have three children, including twins. They love bouncing on the couch, legos, music, and my waffles. My wife teaches English at the same university. I am interested in most things, but these days, networks, social entrepreneurs, the environment, innovation, and virtual worlds. Finding Hidden Abodes and Shaking Iron Cages since 1972
This entry was posted in For Fun, Society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slice of My Home Life

  1. jwhite17 says:

    That’s actually pretty funny. One thing that people forget is that Wal-Mart got to where it is by listening to consumers and giving them what they want at incredible prices. Over the summer I watched a documentary called Food, Inc., and they spent 10 or so minutes on Wal-mart and how they are trying to increase organic choices to customers because that is what people want. The problem is the producers of organic food are split on whether or not this is good business. One person justified it by pointing out the incredible environmental impact Wal-Mart’s scale can give a institution, while another person simply stated that Wal-Mart is “evil.” Seems like Aley is in the latter camp.

  2. Jordi says:

    Food, Inc is on my list to see. One problem with organic labeling and the WM model, purely from a green perspective, is that the stuff travels so far. The barriers to entry for labeling organic is another story…I buy a decent amount of local produce that is not organically labeled, but certainly grown in a sustainable way. Good topic for a final paper.

What do you think?

