Do you want a pickle with that?


I don’t like the food on campus. Forget that it is a hassle to go to the cafe or the bison in peak hours, and forget that until recently there was no good food after 8 pm. you can even forget about some of the creepy servers (Do you want a pickle with that?) All of these things for be forgivable if I had a decent variety of food to choose from.

Most colleges I visit have many options when it comes to food. McDonalds, chick-filet, taco bell, are all easily assessable on the campus and you can use the money you would spend on food at the cafe or bison at these places. Instead I only have 4 places on campus to spend my declining dollars. After a few months the bison becomes stale and boring. The cafe has many stations, but are essentially the same thing week in and week out. I have only been to the terrace room when I have been on campus for track and the other places aren’t open, but from what i hear you can only get a good salad there. I included 7th street cafe as a place to eat but other than coffee, milkshakes, and snacks it could not sustain an actual meal.

I applaud the campus opening up the use of our ID’s for use outside of the campus, but we should be able to use declining dollars and not campus dollars at these other places. Maybe its the four years that I have spent here, but the food situation at Bucknell is terribly consistent and i would like variety.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do you want a pickle with that?

  1. Pingback: Handy Index to Posts | Biz Gov Soc

  2. mnickels says:

    I totally agree with you. I like that Bucknell has allowed us to use our campus dollars at some downtown (and not- Sheetz!) places, but I can’t use my declining dollars. So basically it’s not the best thing in the world, but it does add some variety to my meals, or it potentially could. The food around us isn’t that great so we don’t have that many options. To me it wouldn’t be that hard to offer something more interesting or better tasting once a week in the Bison. There is the edible impressions station, but every time I go over there to check it out, it looks like a pretty unhealthy meal or they are serving some kind of seafood and I do not trust seafood at the Bison, or in the middle of Pennsylvania. Living downtown kind of mitigates the problem for me, but this is the only year I haven’t been required to have a meal plan! There are a lot of things that need to be updated or changed around here I think, and food is a pretty large factor in campus life. If only all of it was better…

  3. jwhite17 says:

    I completely agree. A large part of the problem is that the school has a contact with Parkhurst. They are the only company allowed to provide food on campus. Overall, this is a large headache. I remember in my management 101 company we had a reception for people to talk about Haiti and what was happening, and we had to go through Parkhurst to get beverages and food, no exceptions.This relationship also allows Parkhurst to charge ridiculous prices for everything. I always laugh to myself when I see the $2 tubs of cereal. This should absolutely change.

  4. Nate says:

    I agree as well. Also, it’s amazing how much of a rip off having a caf meal plan is unless if you are going to eat 4 meals there 7 days a week. Unfortunately I did not realize this until someone did the math for me which made it clear that declining dollars is the way to go. I very rarely eat at the bison or the caf for the reasons you discussed and mostly use my declining dollars on soup and milkshakes at 7th street cafe.

What do you think?

