I’m not a girl, not yet a woman…


I am in no way what I think of as a feminist (ask Alyssa if you don’t believe me). I do support having equal rewards and consequences for the same actions preformed by males and females; however, with that said, I am aware of and appreciate the differences between males and females. Sometimes, these differences may deserve different treatment. That is my opinion.

Dr. Elizabeth Capaldi Evans, my research advisor and a (younger) woman herself, and I conflict on this stance often. She is what I would consider a die-hard feminist. Currently, she is attempting to alter the campus’ use of the word “girl” by asking students and faculty alike to refer to us females as “women”. She believes that the description “girl” is demoralizing to 18-22 year old females because first, we are not girls anymore and second, 18-22 year old males are never referred to as “boys” anymore.

The thing is that I do not feel as though I am being demoralized when referred to as a “girl”. I don’t take offense to it and I don’t think I am belittling myself when I refer to myself in this way, either (as my Britney Spears lyrics title eludes to). I can somewhat understand, though, a feminist’s view that the evolution of keeping the word “girl” instead of women, young ladies, etc. while transitioning away from calling older guys “boys” is in itself discriminatory.

Even if I don’t agree with her entirely, Dr. Evans is firm in her beliefs and is trying to empower women across campus. In this way, even if it won’t change the world, she is influencing the way that we, the Bucknell community, view female students.  Like myself, I bet many of you had not thought of this small conversational detail and I would love to hear your reactions to it.

This entry was posted in Equality, For Fun, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m not a girl, not yet a woman…

  1. Jordi says:

    Do you think boys and girls, men and women should be equal in the eyes of the law? In equality of opportunity?

    If you say “yes,” you are a feminist. I don’t know when feminist became a four-letter word.

  2. Pingback: Handy Index to Posts | Biz Gov Soc

  3. The Boy! says:

    [That song was so popular when it came!]
    I thought calling someone a girl was kind of a compliment, that they are young and innocent, perhaps because society would like to visualize the ideal woman as just that. Whereas calling an 18 to 22-year-old male a boy would seem taunting because in the same vein men are supposed to be tough and mature. In most cases I’ve seen, though, it is the opposite. Women of that age group are more mature than men! Strange.
    Nice little observation you made. I will have to think twice now before I call any female a girl now. I’ll stick to dame 😉

What do you think?

