I WANT SOMETHING OTHER THAN DOMINOES AFTER 11PM


I, like many Bucknellians, enjoy the occasional midnight snack. What I, like many other Bucknellians, do not enjoy, is attempting to find a late hour only to come up with the default, Dominoes. Now, I do not have any problem or vendetta with Dominoes, I love cheesey bread. But a problem I do have, is attempting to find other places open other than Dominoes when I do not want pizza (or cheesy bread, which is rare, but it happens).

Almost all of the businesses around Lewisburg, specifically ones that deliver or ones that are fast food, close at 11pm every night. Being from New York, the city that never sleeps, this is simply unacceptable. While I realize not every city, especially Lewisburg, will ever have paces open as late as New York does, I would expect a lot more places to be open near a college campus, specifically one in the middle of nowhere with nothing else to do but drink (sigh) and eat. This is especially surprising considering how often I spot drunk students in search of food. I would think, even for the late night workers they would hire, businesses could potentially increase their income a decent amount.

Even for places that are open when you want to eat, it would be even more awesome to have a list of places at your disposal to look at the menu of and order, all online. There are a lot of different websites that facilitate this, and businesses can easily upload their menu and take orders, all online. This has potential for a new found greatness on the Bucknell campus. One website is http://www.campusfood.com/ where we currently have ONE restaurant on it. The interface of this website is simple enough for both businesses and students and can have a strong impact on the local community and Bucknell campus if used and promoted properly.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is…

  • Sheetz should deliver.
  • Chinese food should be open later.
  • Fastfood in general should both deliver and be open later (I’ve seen it at NYU).
  • I’m hungry late and so is everyone else.
This entry was posted in Business, Cases (Real World), Society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I WANT SOMETHING OTHER THAN DOMINOES AFTER 11PM

  1. cornerback5 says:

    I agree. Once you get tired of the cafe, you can go to the Bison. Once you get tired of the Bison, you can order Dominos. Once you get tired of Dominos, you can order ____?! Uh oh, there is a serious problem here. I do believe that businesses can make more money if they stay open a little later and properly advertise this to the college campus so we know about it.

  2. meganm423 says:

    I definitely agree that restaurants surrounding Bucknell should get more involved in campusfood.com. it would be not only please students who are lazy and do not want to call restaurants but it would probably generate more revenue for the restaurants themselves.

  3. RickE says:

    I think there is a severe lack of food trucks/carts. These could roll downtown or just off campus (I assume Bucknell would not let them on campus) on party nights and serve up late night goodness. The mobility and low cost of these restaurants on wheels would make them perfect for satisfying this niche market (and our stomachs). Also, they could be gone in the morning and anybody who cares about the “classic” look of Lewisburg would be maintained.

What do you think?

