All [we] need is love!


Love your children.

That’s it. That’s my 60-second solution to changing the world.

The rising generation is often considered irresponsible and inconsiderate. I know this because I’ve been told personally and countless times that this is how “we” are and that it is only getting worse. And I wouldn’t necessarily disagree. But why the change in attitude? People don’t become who they are with a snap of their fingers: they are the product of their life experiences. These life experiences include, most especially, one’s childhood.

Before blaming the generation, the source of the change should be looked at. In 2006, US citizens spent an average of 19 minutes with their children per day, and this number has only decreased since. Keep in mind, this statistic includes weekends on top of being an average including much lower numbers.

19 minutes!

With only 60 extra seconds of love from their parents each day, children will grow up to be more responsible world-citizens, because child development is a direct result of the parenting received. Having received love, people will be more able to give it, which will in turn increase the respect of future generations. The positive cycle will continue. 

So, please, love the children you decide to have. Be strict, be involved. Help them grow into beautiful people. They need your guidance early on. If every parent adjusts in this way, the world will become a better place.

This entry was posted in Blogging, For Fun, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All [we] need is love!

  1. wow – that stat is so hard to believe! I like this post.

  2. knriggins says:

    I completely agree. I also think inventions like the cellphone have changed how we spend our time. Now kids spend more time at home talking to their friends then they do having quality family time. Even in my lifetime I’ve seen my own family dynamic change. I think it is important for kids to have their parents actively involved in their lives. It makes kids (for the most part) feel supported which in turn I think makes them stronger and more true to themselves. Having a strong tie to family also demands things like responsibility and respect. Besides this, it also teaches kids how to eventually become a good parent. I really do think this is a growing issue. The sad thing is, the solution doesn’t require new laws or billions of dollars. Just love your children, simple as that. Great post Eli!

  3. Pingback: Handy Guide To Solutions Posts | Biz Gov Soc

  4. KCasty says:

    I absolutely agree with both of you. Between working on Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia this summer and visiting Central Park in New York City several times within the past six months, it was AMAZING to me how many children were playing in these parks with nannies and babysitters. It is sad to me that these children probably know their nannies better than they do their own parents, as the nannies are the ones who are there with them through all of their daily developments and struggles.

    • Hi Kelly, although I do agree that parents should have a presence in their children’s lives, I think that a child having a caring nanny is better off than ones without any love. Some people have to work long hours and need a nanny to watch their kids. I am the product of parents that were rarely home and I was raised almost entirely by a nanny. With that said, I was always aware of my parents’ love for me, and we have remained EXTREMELY close. Somehow, this method worked, because I think I turned out alright.

      What I am trying to solve with my 60-second idea is the sad reality that some children are not taught love: neither from parent, nor guardian, nor nanny. They are not taught manners or to respect, not encouraged to go to school, not inspired by hardwork. I saw these too often on the streets of Baltimore where I worked this summer: children at home alone, and when they weren’t alone they were being yelled at or ignored. Hopefully parents that do work spend an extra 60-seconds with their kids when they get home. Parents that have the time but show no love, those are the ones that really should heed my advice.

  5. Jordi says:

    Yes. Nicely written too. I’m not one to say all is hunky-dory in parent land. But it is worth looking at where parents spend the rest of their time and the pressures to work more to earn the same or less. Plus, as we looked at earlier in the semester, there is a forty year shift towards more single parent households (usually women) AND women of all households working. So, there are structural factors at work.

    Is that over all ages? 0-18?

  6. Pingback: Winners of the Solutions/60 Second Idea to Change the World | Biz Gov Soc

What do you think?

